this week at the farmers’ market

So I’m trying this new thing, where I go to the farmers’ market, and only buy enough food to feed me for a week. Not enough to feed my whole house. Not enough to begin freezing and packing away. Just enough so that I can have food for the week.

This weeks’ purchases:
Blue Ridge Dairy feta, smoked mozzarella, and Greek yogurt with honey
– new potatoes

– 1 lb of spinach, arugula, and mesclun (seen piled high in crates here…mmmm)
– half a dozen homemade goat cheese pierogies
Smith Meadows Farm sweet potato ravioli and fresh sundried tomato pasta
– 3 apples from Spring Valley Farm and Orchard
– butternut/hubbard/acorn squash soup with oranges and apples
– 1 lb. Virginia Lamb patties with feta
Bonaparte Breads chocolate almond croissant (for me) and apricot tart/almond croissant (for my mom/grandmother)
– 1 bunch of collards

– no broccoli, although it looked good

Not at all bad for a mid-winter/end of winter haul. And every bit of it locally produced.

The smoked mozz went into this recipe that my mom made for dinner at my grandparents’ Sunday night. The collards were for her too, to make for my grandfather.
Monday I had brunch at Creme (waaay better than the crappy ass birthday brunch I had there. And I’ve solved my egg dilemma, but more on that later), a late afternoon snack at Oyamel, and lamb patties and salad for dinner with my roommate.
Yesterday I had leftover dinner for lunch, and Stoney’s super grilled cheese with Ace, who made fun of me for eating grilled cheese with bacon and fries with a side of mayo. He did promise to come visit me when I have my first heart attack at 25 though.
Tonight, I’m off to VT’s for some sort of crazy German-wurst-fest and a hefty dose of college basketball, which led to the following e-mail exchange:
VT: we still on for dinner tonight?
me: yes, but I should remind you that it’s a double header- Carolina-NC State at 7 and Duke-Miami at 9
VT: um, you do remember i have a 46-inch HDTV, right?

Tomorrow I have an event for Greater DC Cares (free pizza and beer provided!) Seems like I’ve bought more than enough for the week, don’t you think? Guess I’ll have to spend the weekend eating to start with a clean slate at the market Sunday morning.

In other news, gansie and I will be attending a DC food blogger potluck next month. I promise a full and immediate report.

BTW- Is it “farmer’s” or “farmers'”? I always assumed that since there are several farmers, it’s a farmers’ market. But perhaps it’s a farmer’s market in the sense that the market is for individual farmers. Am I putting too much thought into this?

UPDATE: right after I posted this, I wandered over to DC Foodies, where they’re writing about…you guessed it- Blue Ridge Dairy’s smoked mozz.

UPDATE #2: Seems the venerable New York Times has written about Blue Ridge as well. Guess that’s what I get for being behind in my newspaper-food-section reading. Thanks to Mike at DC Foodies for the tip.

4 responses to “this week at the farmers’ market

  1. Thanks for the feedback over at DCFoodies, Belmont! Not at all surprised that the Blue Ridge Dairy products are marked up at Whole Foods – how else would they make an exorbitant profit?

    PS – Great to see that you’re a friend of Gansie’s, as well! I’ve become quite a fan of Endless Simmer, and I frequently feel compelled to add my two cents.

  2. We cannot wait to meet you..

    And I have always said Farmer’s, but what do I know?

  3. I lean toward Farmers’ myself, but a quick Google search turns up plenty of instances of each.

    As long as it features producers and growers from the nearby area, I don’t care what you call it.

    By the way – not sure if you saw this, but someone else commented on my post with a link to this article:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/02/20/dining/20dairy.html?_r=3&ref=dining&oref=slogin&oref=slogin&oref=slogin

    Looks like the NY Times decided to write about Blue Ridge (as part of a larger piece) yesterday, as well!

  4. @mike: thanks for the updates! and yes, endless simmer is great

    @lemmonex: i’m had no idea there were so many food bloggers in DC. should be a great time

Leave a Reply

