Why didn’t you call me?: Italian tortellini soup

For this installment of “why didn’t you call me,” the segment where people make delicious things, then tell me about them, causing my to yell “why didn’t you call me…to come over and eat?”  Today, we head to the southeastern Virginia.

My aunt sent me the following e-mail:

“It was a hit with everyone that sampled!  M even sopped her bread in the broth!!!!  This was very simple to make and tasted delicious.  The pinot paired with it was a good choice.  This will definitely be on the rotation while it is cold.  There are benefits to making nice with the teacher, you know?!  The Third Grade Science Teacher was kind enough to share her recipe and I am ever so grateful, it is a wonderful soup/meal.  I added fresh Italian bread with butter and everyone is full.  Of course, S declined to sample and had baked beans and a hot dog.  One of the few times I will prepare something else, she has never been a fan of soup.  In fact, she would rather go to bed hungry, kind of like someone else and beans.  Even jelly beans, can’t really force someone to eat something they dislike that much.  Not my cup of tea anyway.  Pictures attached.”

The soup starts with browned Italian sausage and uses the drippings to cook some onions and garlic. Vegetables, red wine, some stock and the sausage are added back to the pan and cooked for about 30 min.  Then you add dried tortellini and sommer for another 30 minutes.

I recreated the soup today- I’ve been home all week, cooking al kinds of things.  I tinkered with the recipe a bit, adding some hot pepper flakes and a bit of red wine vingear to brighten up the flavors.  Also, I have issues with pasta in soup, as it’s very easy to overcook- which is exacly what I did.  I have a valid excuse though, I also made a cinnamon coffee cake today, and was trying to take it out of the oven.  Anyway, here are pictures of my soup

tortellini-soup1

and the coffee cake.

coffeecake

The coffeecake fell in the middle.  Actually, it’s probably more accurate to say it collapsed.  I’m not sure why, I think it has something to do with the fact that I let the batter sit for a bit while I made the cinnamon crumb topping.  The cake itself was great though- very moist and tender.  You can see my lovely grass green Christmas present from my sister in the background.

One response to “Why didn’t you call me?: Italian tortellini soup

  1. I’m a consistency eater. So sue me. Beans are gross, including jelly beans.

Leave a Reply

